(from Scénes, V.87 #13)
for solo trombone

Another in a continuing series of solo concert etudes for every instrument, Accelerandi is structured around the notes of the three octotonic scales, arranged in 3 octaves within the trombone’s register, with durations derived from the Fibonacci Sequence. The pitches are also audibly distinguished by octave: the low octave pitches are all attacked sforzando,  the middle octave piano and the high octave forte. Structurally the piece is set in 5 cycles of pitches, each using a diminishing note value of a base duration, which in turn diminishes with every new cycle.

First page of the score to Accelerandi
Click to enlarge (click back to return to this page)

Ffflorestan publishing

All material contained herein, including website design, is copyright © Patrick Valentino, unless otherwise credited.
All rights reserved. No content on this website may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means without permission.