for Vibraphone & Chamber Orchestra

After scenes from the Odyssey

Visions is a work which does not easily fit into any traditional form. On the one hand, the virtuoso solo vibraphone part suggests a concerto, but normal interaction and conflict between soloist and
orchestra is missing, replaced by a cohesion of both parts to a unified whole.

The inspiration for the work, besides the dearth of repertoire for the vibraphone and wonderful sonic opportunities it affords the composer, was to create a suite of character pieces based on the personages of Homer's Odyssey.

 The first movement, Penelope & the Suitors,  introduces Odysseus’ wife’s theme as well as a hint of his own, performed in moments of calm amid the clamor of the suitors. The central 4 movements depict some of the events making up Odysseus’ journey home: Calypso, the seductive nymph; The Lotus-Eaters, amnesiac narcotic users; of course the Sirens, and finally Scylla and Charybdis. In the final movement, Penelope & Telemachus, Odyseeus returns home, vanquishes the suitors, and is reunited with his wife and son.

Visions is scored for vibraphone and chamber orchestra (1(pic)-1(eh)-1(bc)-1, 1-1-1-0, hp, str, 1perc [timpani*, crotales (high), wind chimes, hand drum, sus cymbal, finger cymbals, vibraslap, slapstick, triangle, tam-tam  * uses piccolo timpano (with range to middle C)]

Purchase Options

Pages from the six movements of Visions
Click to enlarge (click back to return to this page)

Penelope And The Suitors CLIP

Calypso CLIP

The Lotus Eaters CLIP

Sirens CLIP

Ffflorestan publishing

All material contained herein, including website design, is copyright © Patrick Valentino, unless otherwise credited.
All rights reserved. No content on this website may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means without permission.