V.54 Sonata584

Sonata584 (V.54)

In Three Movements:

I. Torrents
II. Reflections
III. Momentum Perpetuum

Three unrelated topics for movements unified by a harmonic and rhythmic language; first, the wind and rain of Torrents, a quasi introduction to the work. The slow middle movement Reflections is cast with periods of group imrpovisation, with the entire structure expanding to be a mirror image of itself. What can be said about the last movement? It's fast, and a fitting close to the work as a whole.

Due to the popularity of Sonata583, I wrote another piece, a year later, appropriately called Sonata584. This time our solo flute is backed by a percussion ensemble, although the entire piece, cast in three movements, is less of a concerto for flute and more a unified chamber work where every performer plays an equal part.

Scored for flute, xylophone, vibraphone, suspended cymbal, slapstick,

marimba, temple blocks, claves, wind chimes, timpani, crotales, castanets, piano

Purchase Options

Page 1 of the score to Sonata584 (3rd mvt)
Click to enlarge (click back to return to this page)


Ffflorestan publishing

All material contained herein, including website design, is copyright © Patrick Valentino, unless otherwise credited.
All rights reserved. No content on this website may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means without permission.