Fugue IV in C# minor (Bach)
From the Well-Tempered Klavier

One of the first truly profound moments in Bach's Well-Tempered Klavier comes
with the fourth fugue, a large five-voice masterpiece in the mournful and
enigmatic key of C# minor. It is both epic and intimate, sprawling and elegant,
unraveling strains of struggle and hope. These arrangements preserve the original
key which is central to retaining the impression of the work, and all are well-
suited for their respective ensembles.

4-5 minutes, 115 measures. Please specify which ensemble you are ordering for.

Scored separately for

•Woodwind Quintet:
Flute, Oboe, A Clarinet, Horn (low), and Bassoon

•Clarinet Choir:
Eb sopranino, Bb Clar, A Clar, Bb Bass and Eb Contralto

•Saxophone Quintet/Ensemble:
Soprano, 2 Altos, Tenor, Baritone

•String Quintet:
2 Violins, Viola, 2 Cellos

please specify which ensemble or ensembles you would like to order
by sending me an email along with your order.

Purchase options

  Page 6 to the score of Fugue IV
(Quintet version)
Click to enlarge (click back to return to this page)

Ffflorestan publishing

All material contained herein, including website design, is copyright © Patrick Valentino, unless otherwise credited.
All rights reserved. No content on this website may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means without permission.